[Artemisia] Winning or Just Not Losing?

Duke Alan dukealan at q.com
Thu Oct 1 08:06:01 CDT 2015

Good Morning All,

Seems like we need some lively discussion to wake up the Aerie.  Excellent!  Here we go, and the topic is appropriate considering this weekend's festivities...

The SCA claims to be honorable, and is loath to "call shots" for others.  But what happens when someone refuses to "call shots" as good in a tournament?  Please don't pretend this doesn't happen.  We've all seen it repeatedly.

How do we deal with the person who couldn't win, but refused to lose?  So far, we've not done much.  Sometimes they get a Crown out of the deal, which of course dishonors those who did fight fairly and played the game with honor.  Those people far outweigh the Cheaters.

Oh my, is that too harsh?  But PC aside, what do you call someone who participates in a game, yet wants to win and not necessarily following the rules to do so?

I was extremely pleased to watch our last Crown Tourney.  It was clean, and the final winner, in fact, was the winner.  Not the guy who refused to lose.  I would greatly hope that we would draw a line in the sand and say, that is the standard that we wil hold to.

So, how is that done?

Discuss away!


More information about the Artemisia mailing list